Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is a criminal offense in Virginia. All criminal offenses, including Class 1 misdemeanors, are considered serious—by law enforcement officers, employers, insurance companies and especially the Virginia judicial system.
When you are charged with the Class 1 misdemeanor of reckless driving, you need an experienced attorney who knows Virginia law and can provide you the guidance and expertise necessary to navigate the complex Virginia court system.
A reckless driving conviction stays on your driving record for 11 years along with appearing on your criminal record for life. Most Virginia reckless driving tickets are based on speed or when there is an accident. If you drive more than 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit or over 80 miles per hour regardless of the posted speed limit, you could be charged with the Class 1 misdemeanor of reckless driving. If convicted, you can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail, receive a fine of up to $2,500 and suffer up to a six-month loss of license in Virginia. Additionally, this is a six-demerit point offense according to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
The law in Virginia is complex, and making the right choice in your legal representation is critical to the outcome of your case. In the case of reckless driving, prosecutors and judges can exercise considerable discretion in determining your punishment. Judges can even reduce the reckless driving charge to “improper driving,” which is a traffic infraction with less severe penalties. It is important to have a trained trial lawyer, such as Mr. Harold, to help convince the judge or prosecutor to reduce your reckless driving charge if the charge cannot be defeated outright.
Hiring a well-trained, experienced attorney is essential to preparing the best case for your situation and possibly reducing your charge or punishment. Do not trust your license and ability to drive to just any firm, trust the Harold Law Firm to represent—and protect—your interests.